top of page

"Promised Land"


Since December 2016 I decided to pick up the pen once again and go back to my roots, writing lyrics. From now on forwards, I will work more frequently on new lyrics. I hope you enjoy them. This one is called promised land. It's about love. The person that it's about can't get the person who he deeply loves, so he doesn't think he deserves to live happily ever after. It's a heartfelt song which indeed were inspired by own experiences.

I can't enter the promised land like this

My thoughts and prayers formed that kiss

It's you the miss that I'm not supposed to wish

Had to postpone that first summer night with you

Now I don't know what I'm supposed to do

But I can't ride along with you no more

And I hate myself for needing you

I can't enter the promised land with you

The moon each night reminds me of you

I'm barely alive my soul still waits for you

But I messed up good and that's the simple truth

I can't enter the promised land like this

Although I'm marching on most of times

It's this road I took when we had that fight

While I was practising my word of bliss

You slowly slipped into some thick mist

Now I do know what you tried to say

But I can't come along anymore, again

And I hate myself for missing you

I can't enter the promised land with you

The moon each night reminds me of you

I'm barely alive my soul still waits for you

But I messed up good and that's the only truth

I can't enter the promised land like this

I've been searching answers why it was you

And only end up finding questions instead

Wish I could go back to rewrite that misstep

When you asked me for the last dance

Now I know which road I had to take

But I can't go back to you no more

And I hate myself for wanting to

I can't enter the promised land alone

The moon each night reminds me of you

I'm barely alive my soul still waits for you

But I messed up good and that's the only truth

My dear I know what I was supposed to do

When your eyes were filled with tears and sourness

But when your heart ached for mine

Left you unanswered for that high school night

(C) MacShayne

Uitgelichte berichten
Kom later terug
Gepubliceerde posts zullen hier worden weergegeven.
Recente berichten
Archief
Zoeken op tags
Er zijn nog geen tags.
Volg ons
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page